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Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice 
Docketing Events 
Bankruptcy > Motions/Applications/Objections > Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice 
Adversary > Motions/Applications/Objections > Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice 
Negative Notice: No 
Fee: $150 payable to Clerk, U.S. District Court  
Code and Rule References 
Local Rule 2090-1(c) 
Description 
Pro hac vice is a Latin term meaning, “for this occasion” or “for this event.” Here, it refers to an 
attorney not admitted to a particular jurisdiction but allowed to participate in a particular case. 
 
The right to appear pro hac vice is not guaranteed. With some limited exceptions outlined in 
Local Rule 2090-1(c), an attorney who is not admitted to the District Court for the Middle 
District of Florida may request permission to appear as an attorney of record for a party by filing 
a motion. The motion must include a consent-to-act by an attorney admitted to the Middle 
District of Florida. A consent-to-act must be filed within 14 days as indicated in Local Rule 
2090-1. In addition, the attorney requesting special admission must be a member in good 
standing in another federal district court within the United States. 
 
Attorneys authorized to appear pro hac vice are not automatically granted CM/ECF filing 
privileges. To receive a password and login to CM/ECF, the attorney also must complete the 
registration forms and meet all the standard requirements posted on the Court’s website. 
 
Once an attorney is granted permission to appear pro hac vice, the attorney is required to pay an 
admission fee to the United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida and file a Notice 
of Compliance with the Bankruptcy Court.  The fee is $150. 
Filing Checklist 
Review the motion to determine if it: 
 Is signed; 
 Has the attorney’s name and address complete and consistent with the filing attorney’s name 

and address in CM/ECF 
 Is properly served and includes a proper certificate of service; 
 Note:   
 File a Consent to Act signed by an attorney admitted to the Middle District of Florida 

within 14 days of filing the Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice; 
 Note:  The Motion can contain the Consent to Act. 

 Pay fee to District Court; and 
 File a Notice of Compliance with the Bankruptcy Court for payment of fee. 

 

http://www.flmb.uscourts.gov/localrules/rules/2091-1.pdf
http://www.flmb.uscourts.gov/forms/
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